Habermas Reading Group

Posted on September 17, 2006

4


With the start of the new term at Essex looming large, it’s time to see if we can get the Habermas reading group rolling. I think that the first reading should be Thomas McCarthy’s introduction to Theory of Communicative Action (Theorie des kommunikativen Handelns) [1987/1981].

The second reading could be the end of Vol. 2; the section entitled “The Tasks of a Critical Theory of Society”. As these present the core of the Habermasian paradigm, I think that between the two of these we’d have a pretty good starting point for different avenues of investigation.  Other suggestions gratefully received, though. If other people don’t put in some input to shape the reading towards their interests, there is a danger that I’ll just make it conform as closely as possible to my own project: and if that doesn’t put people off, I don’t know what will.

habermas

Posted in: Events